Countdown To Euro 2020 – The Most Awaited Event In The World

The date 12 June 2020 is special for the football fans around the world – the date Euro 2020 kicks off and commemorates the 60th birthday of the European Championships. As a result, the tournament will be across 12 cities in 12 countries of the UEFA.

Top teams are set to participate, and this means the odds for Euro 2020 are on a high. There is no automatic qualifier. Each team has to play to earn its position in the finals.

Countries And Hosts of Euro 2020

There will be 12 host cities across Europe that will host three group games, and one quarter-final.

Wembley Stadium will be alone in hosting both semi-finals and the final. The iconic stadium holds the highest regard in the football community and is famous as ‘The Home of Football’. Nothing would be more perfect than to let Wembley host the semi-final and final of this years competition. Moreover, it has hosted the FA Cup and the League Cup Finals and has a capacity of around 90,000 people. It already is already famed for hosting the 1966 World Cup Final, the only time Englan have won the competition.

This decision to host the tournament across 12 cities was down to the UEFA Executive Committee in 2012. It marks the 60th year of UEFA and hence, to ‘party all over Europe,’ this was seen as the right occasion.

The General Secretary of UEFA claimed that it is a great way to manage money in the present climate and that this would be a one-off event.

Here is a list of hosting cities:

  • Rome: Italy, Olympico in Rome
  • Munich: Germany, Football arena, Munich
  • Saint Petersburg: Russia, Saint Petersburg stadium
  • Baku: Azerbaijan, Baku Olympic stadium
  • Dublin: the Republic of Ireland, Dublin arena
  • Amsterdam: the Netherlands, Johan Cruijff arena
  • Budapest: Hungary, Puskas Arena
  • Bilbao: Spain, San Mames Stadium
  • Copenhangen: Denmark, Parken stadium
  • Bucharest: Romania, National Arena Bucharest

Format Of The Tournament For Dummies

UEFA had decided to increase the number of participating teams, and so it has raised the number of teams to 24 from the year 2016. Another change will be the presence of six groups instead of four teams as per the previous years. There will be a winner and a runner-up in every group and the four best third placed teams head into the round of sixteen.

There is no automatic inclusion or qualifier this time. The presence of many teams has urged the committee to come up with more ways to help all the deserving teams to have a spot.

The number of teams is high, and this only signifies the need to have a separate winner and four positions in each group. Only then can there be qualifiers. The months leading to June 2020 have been the time for picking up the qualifying teams. That said, of the 55 UEFA countries, only 24 teams have come this far.

There are 6 groups from A to F, with each group having 4 teams or countries.

All About The UEFA Nations League

Twenty teams, the top two in each of the ten groups, qualified the tournament by the European Qualifiers. Four more countries qualified via the new UEFA Nations League and the play-offs that are to happen in March 2020.

Dates And Groups

On 26 March 2020, the playoff semi-finals will take place. On 31 March 2020, the playoff finals will take place. The inaugural game is scheduled in the Stadio Olympico in Rome, between Turkey and Italy.

The draw for the group stages took place last November. The group-wise allotment is as follows:

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Russia, Finland, Denmark, Belgium

Group C: Austria, Ukraine, Netherlands, and Play-off winner

Group D: Croatia, England, Czech Republic, Playoff winner

Group E: Sweden, Poland, Spain, Playoff winner

Group F: Portugal, Germany, France, Playoff winner


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like